deleting emails after event

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

I downloaded your script yesterday and got the initial setup successfully done. As i started playing around with the script and it's settings, I didn't see a means to have it delete the messages from the server upon download. Is that feature available? I'd also like it to be able to delete the email from the inbox after executing it's action. I skimmed thru the docs several times and if this is possible, it wasn't obvious to me how to do it.

I've set up an email account on my mail server (exchange 2003 with POP & IMAP support) just for this script. I plan on using this script to recieve messages sent from apple's Find My Friends app and parse the subject line and set statuses based on the incoming emails. I want to use this for occupancy/vacancy sensing. I think this will be a good way to use the technology already in the pocket of all my family members as a way to tell HS who's home and who's not at any given time.

So to eliminate the need to do manual maintenance, and keep everything streamlined, I'd like for the script to delete the message from the server as soon as it's downloaded. And then once it's in the local mailbox, I'd like it to perform it's action, and then delete the message from the local mailbox. So that at any given time, it should have no messages just sitting in the inbox for more than a few moments.

Is this doable?

Thanks!

Yes assuming you know the address, sender or subject contents... the details are in the checkpop.ini document:

For example with the address...

The following entries are not added to the checkpop.ini file by default. If you wish to use any of these features, please add these manually.

[DeleteOnAddress1]
    Emailaddress="TheEmailYouWantDeleted@123.com"

If you receive an email from TheEmailYouWantDeleted@123.com then this will be deleted from the mail server. It is not case sensitive.