Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Toggle question... on Movement.. (not urgent)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Toggle question... on Movement.. (not urgent)

Michael,

I love the plugin... it is straight forward.. well documented.. and seems to have very little overhead.

I am still learning basic homeseer scripting... but I had a question..

On The "Toggle" sensor type..

I plan on putting a hawkeye in each of our cars...

I understand how the basic toggle works to show car coming or going...

I have a question:

Q) Is there a chance for it to get "Out of sync" and think the car is coming rather than going...

I think this could happpen if for example:

Saturday morning... i need something out of glove box.. i go out to car.. open door... (setting on on the hawkeye).. get the item and close the door and come back inside... I think the state of the sensor would toggle... to away..

I think this could be dealt with: By somehow only doing the home -> away toggle if the sensor stayed on for the full 10 minutes... (assuming the "Time after ON till OFF Generated" is set to 10 minutes. And the Hawkeye was set to go off after 5 minutes without motion.... car would go out of range and H.S. would never receive an "Off". )

But if i somehow could do the above... wouldn't that prevent the toggle from away to home? (i.e... i come home... H.S. sees hawkeye for 6 minutes (one minute of actual motion me pullng in and exiting car... and the 5 minutes in the Hawkeye)

I'm just having a bit of trouble getting my head around this... i'm sure it is just in how i'm envisioning it..

Thanks to anyone that can discuss this with me and help out.

Andrew..

P.S...

What is the difference between:

"Time after ON till OFF Generated"
    &
    "Max time Sensor can be on"

Aren't they both the same thing... if MCS Movement doesn't see an off after x minutes after the last "ON" is detected... it will set it off?