.NET xAP Plugin

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

.NET xAP Plugin

I have a .NET version of mcsXap plugin with which I ran the xAP Stress script as a benchmark. The CPU utilization was under 1% vs. the 75% when running through hs_compatibility. The prior test results were posted at http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=118266.

If anyone has concerns about xAP impact on the CPU and wants to use an alpha level plugin then I'll make it available.

Michael,

I have a Netiom-xAP which send out frequent status updates on > 100 variables every few seconds and it pegs my CPU. I would like to try the .NET version and see if it helps.

Comment

I'm new at this .NET development so I'm not ceratain how many of the files you actually need. I suspect only dll's, but I included the full binary output

In my case I did the development on a Vista PC with a fresh HS2 install. I put the files in the zip container into the Homeseer 2 folder. I suspect you will need to move hspi_mcsXap.ocx out of the Homeseer 2 folder otherwise you will have 2 mcsXap plugins.

My testing so far has shown that I am able to use the browser setup to change settings and Accept xAP messages and observe that the accepted message is updated in HS device.

The primary files that you will want to backup are the mcsXap.mdb database that contains the message information and mcsXap.ini that contains the setup settings.

Most of my conversion effort has been with recoding of the Winsock control to use .NET libraries. I started with an internet download called Winsock2007 to give me a structure and then implemented the UDP broadcast and multi-NIC needed to support mcsXap. I have not done anything yet about the interopt with the existing ADO-related database libraries or the Scripting libraries.
      Last edited by Michael McSharry; August 6, 2007, 12:06 AM.

Comment

I receive the following error message when the plugin launches: