Can Learn, But Not Send IR

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can Learn, But Not Send IR

I'm new to IRTrans, just installed it and am able to learn and recognize commands, but cannot get it to transmit them.

After reading these posts, it seems that maybe I have my zones wrong. I have just a single USB IRTrans attached to my homeseer server. According to the documentation, I used Zone 1 (send to all devices).

Should I be using zone 99?

Ed t.
    tenholde

Well, that cannot be the problem as I cannot enter a zone greater than 16 (I'm using the plugin from the updater).

I've read someplace that some people needed to use an external power supply with the USB IRTrans to send properly. When I ordered the power supply with the usb IRTrans, they said I didn't need it. Could that be my problem?

In addition, I am using an external emitter to send to my IR distribution system, and have an emitter from my ir distribution system attached to the IRTrans. Could I run into echo or loop problems (what I send out of the irtrans emitter ends up being blasted back to the irtrans receiver)? Should I turn off the external emitters?

Ed t.
    Last edited by tenholde; March 16, 2007, 09:09 PM.
    tenholde

Comment

Hi tenholde,

For the moment there are two versions of the plug-in, the latter supporting installations that involve multiple buses. For your situation, the plug-in that is delivered via the Updater should work fine and the accompanying documentation is current for this version.

Not sure why you can learn and not send without a little more information, but you can get a little idea from the LED on the IRTrans devices themselves. They blink green when receiving IR, and red when sending. So, first of all, when you tell HS to send a command, does the LED blink red on the device? Second, make sure the "learning environment" is quiet when you learn commands; i.e. the LED is not randomly blinking green when you're trying to learn commands.