Scripting for Dummies or templates?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Scripting for Dummies or templates?

I am working on a custom UI and would like to integrate scripts into it. The problem is that I have no experience with scripts. All I want to do is turn lights on and off. I would like to think if templates exist, that I could modify them to fit my environment.

I want to verify that my understanding is correct. Scripts are simply text files that have been compiled, and reside in HomeSeer HS3/scripts folder. All my UI needs to be able to do is to open/execute those script files, which it can do already.

I want to learn how to script and I have some ebooks and vods to learn from. However I want to hit the ground running.

Originally posted by jogentry View Post
    I am working on a custom UI and would like to integrate scripts into it. The problem is that I have no experience with scripts. All I want to do is turn lights on and off. I would like to think if templates exist, that I could modify them to fit my environment.

I want to verify that my understanding is correct. Scripts are simply text files that have been compiled, and reside in HomeSeer HS3/scripts folder. All my UI needs to be able to do is to open/execute those script files, which it can do already.

I want to learn how to script and I have some ebooks and vods to learn from. However I want to hit the ground running.
    How are you building the custom UI? Web page running under HS or your own web server? Separate application?

The scripts in the HS script folder are just text, and are compiled by HS when they are executed BY HS. They cannot execute outside of HS (without significant contortions, see: http://www.tenholder.net/tenWare2/tenScripting)

There are ways to access HS devices, events, etc from outside of HS, and you could tell HS to run a specific script this way.

Let us know more of the environment you are using to build the UI and we can provide some help.

tenholde