Homeseer Media Player Music Request 1.0

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Homeseer Media Player Music Request 1.0

'Homeseer Media Player Music Request 1.0 (Special thanks to Steve Coles)
    'Created by: Michael Lester (Verner, WV. USA) (k.mounts@citynet.net)

'Hello all, I'm a newbee at Homeseer and VB Script. And I hope that this short script will be 'enjoyed by some of you, especially since its my very first try at anything like this. I was 'trying to think of a way that I could just request Homeseer to play a particular type of 'music when I asked, like "Play some Rock and Roll" or "Play some Country". Or just ask it to 'play music and the have it ask me what type of music I wanted to listen to.

'Then I was looking at a script that Steve Coles wrote called (News Headlines). The more that 'I studied the script trying to make it work the more it came to me that I could borrow a 'little from his script and make Windows Media Player play my requested playlist.

'The script is very simple really, it explains itself when you read it. I included 'instructions inbeded in with the script like some others have done that helps so much.

'What it dose:
    '1) You ask your MS Agent to play some music.
    '2) MS Agent comes back and uses your Media Player playlist(s) to ask you to make your 'choice(s).
    '3) You then choose "Rock" "Country" "Blues" etc... The possibilities are endless and the 'choices are totaly programed by you. Just make sure that you put the correct file path(s) 'and names to your (playlist.wpl) files.

'Here is what I created, please feel free to improve on it and post it. I'm still trying to 'work on it myself. Trying to figure out how to send play and stop commands to Media Player 'from Homeseer.

sub main()

' Define variables

Dim strType

hs.speak "What kind of music would you like to hear? You may choose from Rock and Roll, Country, Blues, Or say, cancel.", True

'clear out the last voice command recognized~