HS not accepting login

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HS not accepting login

Sorry for such a basic question, but I'm a new user, I'm not a programmer, and I'm not very technical when it comes to web stuff and servers.

I downloaded the trial version of HS, 1.5.2 Build 24. I'm running it at my home. I started the server using the default port, 80. I tried it out, and I can access it from my home computer and other computers away from my home. Great! I have cable internet service with AT&T, and the ip is static.

My problem is that I can access HS from everywhere except the place I really need to, my office/work computer. When I put in my ip in a browser window at work I get the HS login dialog. Then I enter my user name and password, but HS doesn't accept it and gives me back a blank login dialog again. We have a local network here at my office with a firewall. I don't really know any more about the setup at my office other than that.

I've used other software packages (i.e. inetcam) that have servers. I was able to login to them from work with no problem. It seems that there's something different about HS as compared to those other programs. BTW, HS is the only program/server running on my home computer at this time.

Does anyone have suggestions? I doubt I can persuade our IT dept. to change anything regarding their firewall or network. I was hoping to to fix this problem from my end.

PocketProtector

I had the exact same problem from my work. I changed the port that HomeSeer was running on and eventually found one that my work wasn't somehow firewalling. It ended up being 8081. The only draw back to this was you have to remember to suffix your ipaddress with the port if it's not oin the default port of 80. For example http://135.34.56.78:8081

-Rupp
    💁‍♂️ Support & Customer Service 🙋‍♂️ Sales Questions 🛒 Shop HomeSeer Products

Comment

I'll give it a try. I appreciate your help.

PocketProtector

Comment