Custom Status page

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Custom Status page

I a complete newbie when it comes to HTML and asp. The only stuff I've ever done is use Word to edit HTML documents and put in the odd hyperlink.

My question is:

Is there an easy way to create a simplified status page without learning HTML and asp?

What I want to do is have a very simple status display on a black background using large white fonts. I need it to look like this as I am viweing it on a standard TV through a PC-TV convertor so it is very low resolution, but can be viewed throughout the house.

I would like the page to have the current date/time sunset/rise times and half a dozen or so status displays. i.e. 'The temperature is XX' 'You have xx new voicemails' 'The central heating is on/off' etc... I don't need the page to control devices- that can be next years project! I might have learned how to do it myself by then!

It would be really good if this could be displayed in an IE window without the buttons at the top. Even better if it could it be activated as the HS computer screensaver.

I have a feeling I might be being too ambitious... [img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif[/img]

Jon

You really need to learn a bit of HTML and .asp.

It actually is very easy once you get started, so I cooked up a basic .asp page to get you started. Take a look and give it a try.

With HomeSeer, you are going to get the most bang by using a .asp format. On a very basic level all you have to do is include the .asp code between the <% %> markers

Take a look at the HoomeSeer scripting functions Help files for ideas about code
    It might help to download a basic HTML editor. I use one called CoffeeCup

I will put a screenshot of the basic.asp page below.
    Attached Files

Comment

[img]/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif[/img]
      Attached Files

Comment

Thanks HomeseerLover,

Thats exactly the sort of thing I was trying to acheive.