Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Driveway Alert Methods

Hello,

I am new to Homeseer having just converted from Wink. I am happy to report that all 40 of my zwave devices are online and working with both Homeseer and Alexa ( Happy wife). Now I am looking to add a Driveway alert when someone pulls into our driveway or leaves it. The driveway opening is 30 feet across and 100 feet long. Along one side is a wooden fence and the other side is our detached garage which has z-net, power and internet. I have searched the forum for "driveway" and "driveway alert" but did not find any relevant solutions. Hoping one or two folks in the forum has come up with a reliable method to detect a car or person entering - leaving the driveway that triggers a HomeSeer event that then forces Alexa to make an audible alert.

Thanks for any ideas you guys and gals might have.

One way would be a photo beam detector with contacts wired to a z-wave device with external sensor contacts. Examples:

https://www.amazon.com/Seco-Larm-960...002WV19DM?th=1

https://aeotec.com/z-wave-door-window-sensor/
    -Wade

Comment

CC4005,

Thank you, I will check that out and see if it will solve this issue.

Comment

I've used a magnetometer based system on a 18 foot wide driveway for years. It works reliably; doesn't detect animals (including people), only vehicles. It does require hard wiring, but that also provides added reliability and eliminates battery failure modes. Dakota Alert is an example. Your wide driveway may be a bit more of a challenge unless you can bury the probe in the center of the driveway.
        To integrate into HS, you will need a device to detect a switch closure or voltage change.
        Mike____________________________________________________________ __________________
        HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.548