Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Newbie here -- can one of you vets help me figure out what I need?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie here -- can one of you vets help me figure out what I need?

So I've just started getting into home automation as I just purchased my first house

I've spent a good 7 or 8 hours browsing these and other forums, and it seems like HomeSeer is a great resource.

The one thing I haven't seen, however, is the main reason I started looking into HA in the first place -- automating opening/closing windows based on outside temperature.

Example:
    9:00PM - House Temp: 71 - Outside Temp: 73 (Windows closed to keep cooler air in)
    11:00PM - House Temp: 70 - Outside Temp: 69 (Windows open to bring in cool air)
    9:00AM - House Temp: 65 - Outside Temp: 68 (Windows close to keep cooler air in)

Is this something any of you have experience with? Where can I find products that are compatible with HS for this?

Thanks,

- Jon

are you looking for HS to actually open and close the window? or notify you to close it? I have not seen automatic windows... at some point I need to do a z-ave blind for a window high up... but even that is something you need to find parts for and "create"
    HW - i5 4570T @2.9ghz runs @11w | 8gb ram | 128gb ssd OS - Win10 x64

HS - HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.435

Plugins - BLRF 2.0.94.0 | Concord 4 3.1.13.10 | HSBuddy 3.9.605.5 | HSTouch Server 3.0.0.68 | RFXCOM 30.0.0.36 | X10 3.0.0.36 | Z-Wave 3.0.1.190

Hardware - EdgePort/4 DB9 Serial | RFXCOM 433MHz USB Transceiver | Superbus 2000 for Concord 4 | TI103 X-10 Interface | WGL Designs W800 RF | Z-Net Z-Wave Interface

Comment