Windows XP Remote Desktop Question...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Windows XP Remote Desktop Question...

I'm new to Remote Desktop Sharing - have a question...
    I have two PCs running XP Pro. One is to replace my HomeSeer always-on PC. In the past, I've managed that HomeSeer PC which is hidden away with no monitor, using NetMeeting to access it from my main PC. I have remote desktop setup and working, but...

I'd like to have XP boot up without a login prompt and I think I MUST have only one user account to do that. If not, please correct me on how to do a default auto-login for an administrator-priviledge account.

Remote Desktop apparently insists on using passwords. I tried it for my normal account which has no password and it fails to login.

So, I don't think I want to try running HomeSeer and the other HomeAutomation applications I have as NT services - due to the dependence on a user interface.

I'd merely like the PC to boot up XP Pro, skip the login/password, and run HomeSeer and the other apps I use automatically. And accept a remote desktop connection with the same login as it booted into.

Is this possible?

I did create a second user account "remote" with a password and can connect via that. And when the originally logged in user gets "disconnected" for the new remote desktop connection, the original user's programs continue to run (e.g. HomeSeer) even though it seems to have no display.

Well, sorry for rambling, but I am just learning the remote desktop techniques.

<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Stevech:
    I'm new to Remote Desktop Sharing - have a question...
    I have two PCs running XP Pro. One is to replace my HomeSeer always-on PC. In the past, I've managed that HomeSeer PC which is hidden away with no monitor, using NetMeeting to access it from my main PC. I have remote desktop setup and working, but...