Netmeeting - how to use it via a port

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Netmeeting - how to use it via a port

I want to setup Netmeeting on my HS machine and get to it from work. I need to set a port on my firewall and point it at the HS machine. No problem there.

But how do you enter that ported address in Netmeeting? I need to call '22.22.22.22:4901' but it won't let me enter the colon in the call address.

I'm brand new at Netmeeting so it's highly possible that I am really missing a point here.

SteveP

Unless you have a special firewall that supports the netmeeting H.323 audio/video protocall, you won't be able to do audio/video. The sharing/remote admin uses the T120 protocall on port 1503 to initiate the connection, so you can try opening up 1503 and fowarding it to the desired computer on your lan.
    Why I like my 2005 rio yellow Honda S2000 with the top down, and more!

Comment

I believe that NetMeeting uses non-standard ports for just basic operation - no video/audio. So firewall(s) in the connection path have to permit these. No-go in most corporations.

You have to VPN in to skip around the firewall. Needs VPN server and client.

Comment

Well that's a bummer. Thought I could use this to talk to my kid at college. Just need a way to talk pc-pc right now for that. I thought net2phone had gone to a pay service only. Was looking for free long distance basically and remote machine access.

SteveP

Comment

I use netmeeting from work (Remote Desktop Sharing) (using it to type this reply). I'm not sure about voice but the ports that I have opened in my DI-713P Dlink router are 1503 and 6699. There are other ports to open but I only need desktop sharing so this is all I have opened. Works like a charm.

-Rupp
          ...One Nation Under GOD, Indivisible, With Liberty And Justice For All.
          -Rupp
          sigpic

Comment

Do you just then call the IP address and not append any port info? (i.e., 22.22.22.22)

SteveP

Comment