Windows 10 hardware for HS3PRO - recommendations please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Windows 10 hardware for HS3PRO - recommendations please

Please help us select appropriate hardware for a dedicated host for HS3PRO. As background, I am a retired systems engineer with experience in machine tool control and coding, and no experience in home automation. I intend to sense, control, and automate our place to a large extent, and I understand that it will take years to learn, select equipment, and implement. As far as I can tell, HomeSeer HS3PRO is the software to use. I want to buy hardware that is compatible with what we already have and that will last a long time without need for upgrade.

As to the hardware, the S6 has the required I/O ports, yet comes only with Windows 7 embedded. Our other systems are all Windows 10, and it is preferable to have only one operating system to understand and support. Also, more main memory and solid state disk, and maybe a more-capable processor should make the hardware capable of flexibility and expansion over the years.

Therefore, please recommend a small fanless PC, suitable for Windows 10 and HS3PRO and a supplier of that system.

Thanks,
    -Z-
    Last edited by Z-noob; October 25th, 2016, 09:02 AM. Reason: Did nor read "NON-HomeSeer" I appologize. Please delete post.

Welcome to the Homeseer forum -Z-.

Homeseer today runs on just about any type of hardware and OS (Linux, Wintel or iOS).

CPU's which are ARM, Intel, AMD do fine.

Serial / USB hardware connectivity today is easy peasey stuff. Here went to Digi powered USB hubs / Digi Serial Edgeports connected to Wintel server working fine in the early middle 2000's.

It really depends on you and how much automation you want to do relating to plugins, scripts et al. As it's always been relating to speed of CPU / amount of available memory.