AP800 and Microphones

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AP800 and Microphones

Hello All, I am a noob to HS but am jumping in with both feet. I have a dell poweredge 2500 rackmount system and 2 AP800's now and after doing a bunch of research etc. I am ready to look at purchasing mics. It appears that most people have had great luck with the Crown microphones. I have seen many references to people using the far less expensive PA3's from supercircuits. However, I have not seen anything that references the PA3's used in conjuction with the AP800. I am just wondering if anyone has any experience with this combination. I see that I can acutally enable and disable the phantom power on the AP800 on a per mic input basis so that I could potentially run a mixed environment.

I am going to be placing these mics throughout the main floor (1275 sq ft) and the basment (1275 sq ft) and possibly the garage.

Any input would be great.

Also, I think I understand how to properly wire a balance mic to the unit and enable the phantom power etc, but what would be the proper way to wire up a PA3 or a crown PZM-10LL (Line Level)?

Thanks to all for the assistance.

You didn't mention why you will use the mics, but if its voice recognition, you might want to stick to one brand throughout. You might have a better recognition accuracy rather than trying to work with several types.

I have all differential mics, but I use a device called a Clean Box to convert my CD player output to AP800 input, and AP800 output to PC input. Here is a link:
    http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/CleanBox/

You can also get them on e-Bay. I also have heard of others just connecting line input or output to the AP800 directly, and that may work, but you are risking noise. The Clean Box is cheap, and gives you two inputs and outputs, plus a volume control, so I think its worth it.

Comment