HI - New user

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HI - New user

Just a quick post to say hi to the community as this is my first post here. I have been putting off buying a home controller for 12 months whilst I researched what I really wanted and needed. Anyway to cut a long story short, I am in the process of building a new extension on my kitchen (30m2) and wanted to put smart lighting in. I have a lot of Hue throughout the house, which the wife loves, but after working out how much 30 Philips Hue GU10s were going to cost, I baulked. I decided that Zwave modules on the 7 lighting circuits (2 external and 5 internal) were a much better option. This has kind of forced my decision to buy a Zwave controller. I have looked at everything from Indigo, Vera, Homey, Fibaro etc and decided that after months of musing and lots of reading, Homeseer met most of my needs, so I bit the bullet and purchased an HS3 licence.
    I wouldn't call myself a total novice to HA, I have done some programming on various platforms throughout my 30 years of tinkering with Comfort / X10 etc but its been a while.
    I learned very early on with home technology of any sort, if SWMBO cant use it easily, I am fighting a losing battle (I have rooms full of junked kit, including Windows Home Servers (x2), network media players, X10 kit and tons of other gadgets) I am hoping that HS3 will be stable enough that she will be happy with it automating things in the background seamlessly. Time will tell..........

Welcome to the forum! You'll find a very helpful and friendly community here.
    -Wade

Comment

Hi Mushii, one of the advantages of HS3 is that you can still use a lot of your older HA equipment with it. I still have X10 and BBSB equipment working here. I use X10 KR22 rf remotes to switch z-wave lighting. HS3 is the Swiss army knife of HA !

Comment