Confused about naming conventions

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Confused about naming conventions

I'm new to HA and I'm having trouble with naming conventions. I've got a house full of Somfy shades, Amazon echoes in most rooms, some Zwave light switches and just brought an ELKM1 online. Currently, I have a ZRTSI, which HS3 controls the opening and closing just fine. However, there are times when I'd like to open or close a shade in a particular room using a voice command. What is the best way to name things so that I could walk in a room and just say "Alexa, open the shades", or, "Alexa, tell Homeseer to open the shades" and the shades in that room will open. I've tried this and I often get a reply that there is more than one device with that name. With more than a dozen rooms with powered shades, I don't want to have to give them all different names and have to remember all those different names. What is the best approach to this?

Bumping this thread. I'd love to hear some folks' suggestions.

Comment

I usually tie each device to the room.

So, turn on the master bedroom lamps.

Comment

Many have requested room awareness be added to Alexa routines. That would give you (and me) what you're looking for. Unfortunately there's been little improvement of routines by amazon. I've not figured out a way to do this within HS.
        -Wade

Comment

Originally posted by mik3 View Post
          I usually tie each device to the room.

So, turn on the master bedroom lamps.
          That works with lighting. You don't even have to say master bedroom if they're tied to a room using the Alexa app. You can walk into the master bedroom and say, "Alexa, turn on the lights," and the master bedroom lights will come on. I have our kid's rooms set that way and they appreciate not having to say the room's name (They're both teenagers - need I say more?)