HS values, mcsMTTP plugin and initial planning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• HS values, mcsMTTP plugin and initial planning

I’m new to Homeseer and am looking to move what has largely been my own mix of Python and Java to something that uses Homeseer (std HS3 version running on a Pi) as the base. I’d like to end up with a system as readable as possible to others in the family in case I’m away as well as supporting more devices – on the latter, I am using a Vera for our few Z Wave bits but I had problems with it in other areas when I tried a more complete switch over a couple of years back.

One thing I’m not sure I’m understanding is devices and their values. It looks to me that Homeseer is easiest to handle with individual devices for items/values, probably grouped with a parent device and that values are better numeric or simple boolean type things like “On/Off” but maybe I’m missing something.

I’ll try to use my Visonic alarm (for which there doesn’t seem to be a plug in) as an example. On my old system, for a zone, I could receive something along the lines of {"event": "Violated","notices": ""}. The “OnUpdate” event code (embedded Java Rhino) could do something like:

Code:
    state = Server.getNewProperty(“event”); //last changes for calling device
    if (state.equals(“Violated”)) {
    […]
    }
    Now I can pretty much do the same first stage via the mcsMQTT plugin (mostly just a change from XPL to mqtt was needed). And if mcsMQTT is set “Create both full parent and child keys” and event is made an integer instead of text, I can easily have that available for Homeseer’s Event pages if required, say for when a door is opened or a sensor is tripped.