Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Can someone help with Lubuntu upgrade to 18.04 64bit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can someone help with Lubuntu upgrade to 18.04 64bit?

Hi,

I have a Hometroller SEL Pro with Lubuntu 14.04 (original configuration).

I'm not familiar with Lynux commends and I'm looking for help upgrading to 18.04 64bit.

I understand from other posts that a total system rebuild is necessary. I don't mind this (or at least I hope I won't mind).

I've got a bootable USB with Lubuntu 18.04. From here, what are the steps?

Any help greatly appreciated. BTW, just FYI I'm not a developer.

Thanks in advance,

Pete

Do the following at the command line prompt via ssh or on the console. It is preferred you do this on the console. I have done all mine remotely via SSH with no problems.

1 - sudo apt update && sudo apt upgrade

2 - sudo do-release-upgrade

3 - It will take a few minutes...30 plus?

- Pete

Auto mator
    Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.534 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU - Mono 6.00
    Homeseer Zee2 (Lite) - 3.0.0.534 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e - CherryTrail x5-Z8350 BeeLink 4Gb BT3 Pro - Mono 6.00

X10, UPB, Zigbee, ZWave and Wifi MQTT automation.

Comment

Hi. Thanks for your reply.

I presume I'm doing these steps once I've booted with the USB drive, is that correct? What's the process for this?

Thanks again,

Pete.

Comment

No.

The update is from the internet and no USB drive is necessary.

- Pete

Auto mator
        Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.534 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU - Mono 6.00
        Homeseer Zee2 (Lite) - 3.0.0.534 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e - CherryTrail x5-Z8350 BeeLink 4Gb BT3 Pro - Mono 6.00

Comment

Oh great! Thanks Pete.

And this will wipe out the whole thing? Or will it keep HS3? Or I have to back it up and then restore?

will this convert to 64bit?

thanks again,

pete.

Comment

And this will wipe out the whole thing?