Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Using Z-wave micro module for most switches and box to be covered with faceplates

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Using Z-wave micro module for most switches and box to be covered with faceplates

Today, 10:49 AM
    Hi,

Homeseer newbie here and switching from ISY. I am moving to a new house and I am thinking of "eliminating" most of the switches by "covering" them with faceplates for a cleaner look.
    1. Install z-wave micro module inside the box
    2. Cover box with faceplates
    3. Lights to be controlled via Z-wave motion sensors or voice activation (Google assistant) or other related events

Wish List:
    4. in key strategic locations, I like to have Legrand wave switch ( a bit pricey) so has to be selected areas only.

Question?
    1. Can micro-module be installed without the physical switch?
    2. Is having semi-"switchless" house a good plan?
    3. What is the best micro-module. Smallest one, if possible?

Thanks in advance.

(Note: I have earlier posted this in the wrong section. You may see duplicates so please ignore the other one and have requested it to be deleted.)

Originally posted by ferdies View Post
    [h=2]
    Question?
    1. Can micro-module be installed without the physical switch?
    2. Is having semi-"switchless" house a good plan?
    3. What is the best micro-module. Smallest one, if possible?
    1. Yes, it will work.
    2. IMO, no. If your HA system is offline for any reason, you'll have no lighting controls. And you'll have to open the box to get to the button should you need to put the device into inclusion mode, etc. Perhaps most important, for safety's sake I'm a fan of having a visual, positive, air-gapped switch. You should also verify whether it would meet building code.
    3. I've only used Aoetec to date, and they're the older Micro G2 model. No complaints but can't comment on any current models.
    -Wade

Comment