Problems with Shuttle DS57U

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems with Shuttle DS57U

I have been running HS3 on Shuttle DS57U since 2016. This mini PC looks like Hometroller S6 but I haven't checked whether they have the same hardware or not. The system has been very stable since 2016.

Last Friday I got a message that the CMOS battery is flat and the system was shutting down constantly. I managed to get a new battery and that seemed to solve the problems. During the weekend the PC shut down few times a day. I then checked the power options and disabled most of the power options so that it shouldn't switch off by itself. Yesterday the Shuttle shut down and when I tried to switch it on it resumed Win7 (32 bit) but soon it shut down again. So, for some reason Shuttle seems to switch off by itself (there is no light on the power LED) and when I press the power button, Shuttle wakes up and it resumes Win7 so it looks like it doesn't do the normal boot up.

Only mod I have recently done was upgrading of the SSD. I had Kingston 480GB SSD which I changed to Samsung 860EVO (1TB). I haven't had yet time to switch back to the old SSD but I guess this is the first thing to do.

The PC shop from where I bought the Shuttle went bust few years ago and I don't know whether we have Shuttle agent in Finland. I had another Shuttle ~7-8 years ago and that died during the warranty period. The PC shop sent it back to Shuttle in Germany. I just got the money back but they never told me what was the problem.

I'm wondering whether anyone else has had similar issues with Hometroller S6. If the SSD is not the issue how to continue the troubleshooting then?

No problems with the S6, running since late 2015. About two years ago I did have an early CMOS battery death. I saved the attached screenshot of the BIOS settings I used to get it going again.

Have you checked if there are any clues in the Windows Event Viewer as to what might be causing the shutdowns?