Newbie question about an Event I have created not working

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie question about an Event I have created not working

I am new to Homeseer and I have only added a couple of zwave devices to test things out. I have added a zooz ZSE18 motion sensor and a zooz wall switch. I am trying to create an event to turn the light on when motion is detected and then turn off the light after 1 minute if no other motion is detected. However, it doesn't turn the light on. I can run the event and it will turn the light on and then off again but when I walk in the room, nothing. What am I doing wrong? I have also noticed that when creating the event, I have to select the sensory binary Click image for larger version

Name:	Homeseer Event.png
Views:	398
Size:	95.9 KB
ID:	1343245Click image for larger version

Name:	homeseer zwave devices.png
Views:	302
Size:	123.5 KB
ID:	1343246Click image for larger version

Name:	Homeseer log.png
Views:	272
Size:	270.0 KB
ID:	1343247 motion child part, right?

Your event is disabled (at least in the picture you posted). And yes, looking at your device looks like the sensor binary motion is the one which changes state (looking at the time stamp)

Comment

OMG! I am learning. Thanks! I am not familiar with the little icons meanings. I did get it working after reading somewhere on the forum a similar issue. This was what they had for the event:

Click image for larger version

Name:	Event.png
Views:	225
Size:	134.7 KB
ID:	1343274

Comment

I recommend looking through the items in the Event Clinic table of contents post and especially the Navigating the Event Management page thread. While there is still more that I would like to make the time to add, it covers much Information. I also recommend reading the Virtual Device Creation and Modification thread which will give insight to how HomeSeer’s devices work. All HomeSeer’s Devices are based on the same template.