Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pseudo Heating Zone

HomeSeer Newbie here.
    ​​I'm looking for an elegant (or hacky, either is fine) way to add a pseudo-heating zone.

Our upstairs has a couple heating zones, however the thermostat is on the east side of the house and my son's bedroom is on the west side of the house. For whatever reason, his room tends to be much cooler overnight.

All my thermostats are zwave and already on the system. What I want to do is put a Z-Wave temperature reporting device into my son's room, and have it warm the room to a set point. Basically slave the thermostat on the other side of the house to the temperature reporting device in my son's room.

Is that possible? If so can you suggest a series of events that could be strung together to make this work?

I initial thought was to have a event that triggered based on the temperature of the device being below a set point, and that would raise the set point of the thermostat that controlled the heater to a much higher level.

After the set point is reached, I I could then reset the thermostat to the lower setting.

Is that the best way to do it?

Thanks for any ideas.

Does your thermostat allow a second sensor? If so I would place a second sensor into your son's room. Since it is all the way on the other side you probably have to go into the attic or crawlspace. If it doesn't allow a second sensor then, as you said, get a (z-wave) device that can read temperature and place it in your son's room. HS happens to have a sale tomorrow of their HSM200 multi sensor device. Since the room is only much cooler during night time use an event that starts for instance an hour after sunset. In that event you can increase the setpoint by the difference of your desired temperature and the temperature in your son's room. Then in the morning you switch back to the previous value.

Comment

You want to install the SVJ-VStat plugin and use this as a virtual stat for control.