Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Zwave "dimmer" UI for fan controller -- Use a stepped slider or buttons to set level?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Zwave "dimmer" UI for fan controller -- Use a stepped slider or buttons to set level?

Hello

I've been using Homeseer for a few months after retiring a decade-old Vera Lite, and it's been a pretty smooth ride so far. Currently, there are a few issues I'd like to resolve, chief among them is representing a 3-speed or a 4-speed fan controller in the web interface and the HomeSeer Mobile app in a way that matches the controller's functionality. Long story short, going from 51% to 63% on a light dimmer makes sense, it makes the lights a smidge brighter. Doing the same thing with a fan controller makes no difference in fan speed, and so, IMO, allowing the user to do this is, well, user-hostile.

I'm looking to accomplish the following:
    1a) Either replace the smoothly moving slider with one that has 4 or 5 distinct positions that it "snaps" to (to indicate possible fan speeds). 0 for off, then 33 / 67 / 100 for a 3-speed or 25 / 50 / 75 / 100 for a 4-speed controller

1b) Alternately, replace the slider with 4-5 buttons in a row, labeled Off, 1, 2 ,3, 4. What I'd like, however, is for the button with the currently selected fan speed to appear "on", different from the rest of the buttons in a row.

2) I'd like word captions (label? status?) to appear in place of "Dim 21%" status, and say either "Off", "Low", "Medium-Low" "Medium-High", and "High" (or "Medium" for 3-speed). The issue I'm running into at the moment is that I can't have one set labels for the buttons, and a different one for status messages. If I go into the status/graphics options, in the status/graphics section, I cannot edit the "label" field. Using the "Status" text doesn't work, since there's no way "Medium-Low" will fit on one button in a row of four. But there's plenty of space for that in the status field......