Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Yamaha MusicCast Control (without Plug-in)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Yamaha MusicCast Control (without Plug-in)

So to start off, I am new to the world of Home Automation, new to Homeseer, new to Node-Red, and I wouldn't consider myself a programmer, so I apologize in advance if some of my terminology is wrong. Alot of what I do is just combining information from multiple sources, and figuring out how to make it all work together. With that said, if I can do this, I feel anyone can do this with a little bit of work, especially if you follow along with me.

I don't have it fully completed yet, but I can see now I will (easily?) be able to get full control of all my Yamaha MusicCast devices without needing a plugin, as well as keep the devices up to date in Homeseer so they don't get out of Sync. I wanted to document this along the way of me fully implementing it, in case anyone had any comments/suggestions on how I'm going about it. It won't be as clean as if I had just documented it once finished, but you'll get to see my mistakes along the way I'm sure, and that will always be good for a laugh.

Anyways, here are links to all the resources I am using to provide control over my MusicCast Devices:

Node Red Used to send HTTP commands, as well as receive UDP Unicast Event packets to update my Virtual Devices

HS4 Node Red Integration Obviously, I need Node Red to communicate with Homeseer

node-red-contrib-yamaha-yxc - Used to control Yamaha MusicCast devices. Can also be done with http commands, but this seems simpler (maybe it won't be, I'm already questioning this method)