Eithernet over power line and Z-Net

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Eithernet over power line and Z-Net

I'm wondering if anyone has their Z-Net communicating via EOP? Is it working reliably?
    I've just tried implementing with with my pool shed. I'll work fine most times but other times not. I've got about 100 ft from router/switch and looking for recommendations.
    HS3PRO 3.0.0.500 as a Fire Daemon service, Windows 2016 Server Std Intel Core i5 PC HTPC Slim SFF 4GB, 120GB SSD drive, WLG800, RFXCom, TI103,NetCam, UltraNetcam3, BLBackup, CurrentCost 3P Rain8Net, MCsSprinker, HSTouch, Ademco Security plugin/AD2USB, JowiHue, various Oregon Scientific temp/humidity sensors, Z-Net, Zsmoke, Aeron Labs micro switches, Amazon Echo Dots, WS+, WD+ ... on and on.

I have no personal experience with EOP for z-net. I did read on this forum that some people has issues. I installed some some EOP devices for my parents as they have all brick and concrete walls and the wireless from the entry point just didn't make it all through the house. It's not like an actual CAT5e/6 cable but it works reasonably well if you don't have other options. There might be issues if you have a subpanel (no experience with this) or if you don't plug the device right into a socket or when you have "noisy" devices like motors and such. I would say buy a device from a place that allows easy returns like Amazon and see how it goes.

Comment

EOP usually just sucks if you are trying to go between buildings. Check out Ubiquiti's directional antennas. They have some that can go over a mile and still get decent speeds. A friend of mine started a business about a mile from his home and Comcast could not get internet service to him for 4 months. He set up some.....AirFiber? antennas on his garage and on top of his business and got enough internet access to run the business web page and video streaming! They are a little pricy, but not bad considering the performance.

Comment