Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Transmission theory questions + uk power Q's?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Transmission theory questions + uk power Q's?

As some of you may be aware I am studying the smart home as part of university dissertaion, search my other posts for more background, Anyway I have been doing research into the transmisiion theory behinf the X10 protocol. As I understand the x10 CM12U sends an 11 digit binary code around the power circuit,

picture from http://www.x10.com/technology1.htm

see here for full X10 transmission theory!
    http://www.x10pro.com/pro/ppt/x10works.pps

anway, the way it looks to me and the way that it expalins it is that it either sends a number code (being the device number of the reciever module) OR a function code (on/off) surely it needs to send bothe of these values firstly the number so it knows which device its sending it too and then the function code so it knows which action to take, I looked over the transmission theory the whole of yesterday and could not figure it out. I am also a little confused about the power situation. I pressume this is all american as in UK I thought we used 240v power sockets!

any help appriciated!

Stu

The protocol is explained in a lot of places, but sometimes not very well. So I'll attempt the Readers' Digest version:

The x10 message has 9 bits, 4 bits for housecode/unitcode, 4 bits for the command code/number code, and a final bit which is set to indicate this 'frame' is a command.

Simple. But wait, there's more! The 'frame' is sent in Manchester encoding, where each data bit is sent as 2 bits on the powerline. A '1' is sent as '10' and a zero is sent as '01'.

Now your frame takes up 18 bits on the power line.

Each frame has a start token (binary '1110', not Manchester encoded), so the message now takes 22 bits.