Housewide Audio Setup Complete!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Housewide Audio Setup Complete!

In my new home, I had a $1700 intercom system installed when it was built. I didn't think i'd use it much for the audio portion of it, but man am I glad i did that now. The main unit had 3 aux inputs. I have my Homeseer PC in the master closet next to my future security panel since my house is prewired for security. I went to Home Depot, got a 2x6 plank, some cardboard, a fishing line and my brother and I went at it in the attic. Being a first time home owner and fairly new at most things home related since I'm only 28, I was quite intimidated by walking in a sea of insolation and hoping not to wide up feet dangling out of the kitchen ceiling. Most of the guys on here are a bit older and have way more XP under the belt, and i'm sure things like this seem cakewalk to many, but not me! I ran a cat5 cable from my master security access panel up thru the attic and way over tons of insulation and then down the wall where the intercom control panel is. I then used one of the 4 pairs and attached some RCA plugs on both ends and plugged one into my soundblaster and one into aux in on the intercom system. It worked perfectly! No buzzing, no noise and sounds great! I now have homeseer announcing important items. Next project is to wire mic's into the house. I'd love to read up on others implementation for house wide microphones. Victory is mine!

A couple of things I have found of use are:

1. Go to Walmart and get a bicycle flag (6' fiberglass with flag on it) and remove the flag. It makes a good rod to use when wiring inside walls and it is cheap.

2. Or go to your local alarm supply store (or Graybar) and buy some fiber rods to pull wires, you will need some of these.

3. Lowe's has some drill bits that are about $35 that are 5-1/2 or 6' that are useful for running wires in the house.