Newbie Automation Hardware Advice Please

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie Automation Hardware Advice Please

I'm a beginner who is about to join the ranks of Homeseer Users and was hoping for some basic advice.

I'm in the market for a very robust and dependable hardware solution that will address my automation goals. I'd like a system that can be programmed to function completely autonomously - as well as be interfaced with HS to serve as a real-time interactive controller.

I don't know if there is a relationship between price and reliability - but if there is - I'm willing to pay for reliability. I will probably rely on a completely separate panel for my security applications, as I feel somewhat insecure about mission-critical functions like security hanging off the same platform as my automation system (which will undoubtedly require being taken offline and/or reflashed on occasion). Therefore, fire, smoke, burglary, panic, keypads, user codes and sirens are not all that relevant. Also, X10 support is not really important as I plan to migrate to Z-Wave (although I could probably find something to control with my old X10 modules).

Anyway, here's a rough wish list:

Really Easy to Learn and Program (I've already stretched myself too thin)
    Powerful Programming Capabilities
    Programming Over Ethernet Option
    Rock Solid Two-Way Plugin Support in HomeSeer
    Reputable Manufacturer with Track Record for Support and Reliability

Either an Abundance of Input Zones Out-of-the-Box -or- Expanders that Don't Add to Programming Complexity
    Support for Wired and Wireless Magnetic, Motion and Water Sensors
    Support for Multiple Thermostats (looking for recommendations on this too)
    Support for Multiple Temperature or Temperature/Humidity Sensors

Support for Z-Wave Lighting Control
    Support for Relays and Voltage Ouputs
    Support for Proximity Card Readers
    Support for Door Bell and Phone Ring Detection