Signal Problems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Signal Problems

I am a newbie to Homeseer/X10. I am having a problem where when I select to turn on A10, it will occasionally also turn on A9 and sometimes A5. When this happens, A10 may turn on, or it may not. I have tried several remotes, as well as performing the task from the server, and I get the same results. The log reads A10 on, so I know I am sending the correct commands. Often, if I wait a few hours, the results will be different (or as expected).

I am using a Homelink USB and an antenna (COM1)(no other receivers are being used). I am using a Phase Coupler/Repeater and the problems started about 3 days after the install. A10 seems to be the only one I am having a problem with. The module I am using for A10 is a LampLink 2-way module.

I would appreciate any ideas, or requests for additional information.

Thanks,

Tom

TWFarrington,
    This sounds EXACTLY like you have noise on the power line. This noise can be caused by various things but the biggest culprits are your PC, a UPS, large appliances and TV's. @-Way switches are also a culprit. This is one of the hardest X10 problems to trouble shoot but one of the best methods unless you have an X10 signal meter is to turn off circuit breakers until the noise stops of subsides and then see what is on that leg of the circuit.

That Homelink USB could be interjecting noise on the power line as well. Have you tried disconnecting this to see if it clears up?
    -Rupp
    sigpic

Comment

Rupp,

Thanks for the response. Now that you mention that, I beleive the times when I had the problem may have been when the TV was on, and I do recall reading something about Sony TV's being problematic. Since that light is likely on the same circuit as the TV, you may be on to something. I will unplugging the TV, and other AV equip and see what the results are.

Thanks for the direction.

Comment