Electric Awning Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Electric Awning Question

I have an awning over my deck that opens and closes with an electric switch. I was wondering if anyone else has an electric awning, and if so, do you have it hooked up to homeseer to open and close under certain conditions? I would like to know the type of switch I would need to buy to make this happen. I use x10 in the house. Thanks.

Interesting....

What type of switch is it? I would open it up and that a DVM and poke around. You might be able to use X10 or maybe some sort of relay..
    HS3 Pro Edition 3.0.0.435 (Windows Server 8.1 on ESXi box)

Plug-Ins Enabled:
    Z-Wave:,RaspberryIO:,AirplaySpeak:,Ecobee:,
    weatherXML:,JowiHue:,APCUPSD:,PHLocation:,Chromecast:,EasyTr igger:

Comment

Well, it was just installed, and they did not install the switch yet. Since I am basically an electrician, I can see that there are 5 wires hanging that need to be hooked up. Red, black, white, green and copper. My curiousity led me to hook up the red and white to a regular hot light switch, and the awning opened! Then I hooked up the black and white to the light switch, and, as I assumed, the awning closed. I don't know what kind of switch they will install, so that's why I wanted to know if anyone had a retractable electric motor awning because maybe they could tell me what switch I can use for automation.

Comment

What is the voltage on the wires?

If under 30V. and less than 5A. you could perhaps use two X10 universal modules (PUM01).

Comment

A three way switch?

It sounds like the white is Neutral, and the black and red are hots for closed and open. Does the motor stop on it's own when it reaches the end? If so, it sounds like a regular 3-way wall switch will work. The power comes to the switch common, and the red and black connect to the two (mutually exclusive) sides of the switch. I don't know what the green might be, but the copper should be earth ground.