Problems with Homseer/Z-Troller after installing new Z-Wave devices

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Problems with Homseer/Z-Troller after installing new Z-Wave devices

Ok. This may be the wrong forum to post this in but I'll start here....

I'm just getting started with Z-Wave and HomeSeer etc. I installed 2 (vrs15-1lx) relays last week. They worked great for a couple of days then just stopped responding at all. I reset everything and worked with HomeSeer support and they were kinda stumped by it. It eventually began working a few days later.

I added 2 (ha01c) receptacles earlier this week. I paid closer attention this time and I did end of having the same problem again. I added the receptacles one at a time to the z-troller and configured them in HomeSeer. They worked perfectly from HomeSeer. I then added them both to my Harmony 890 remote. That also worked without a problem. However, a couple of hours later I realized that HomeSeer was no longer able to communicate with any of the 4 devices. I'm still unable to get them communicating again.

Was this a result of adding them to the remote or is there something else going on?<!-- KitSKUInsert=</I> -->

Uh Oh.
    I think I found the answer in an old post:

In order to coexist with the Z-troller the remote needs to be a secondary to the Z-troller which is always primary? Is that correct? Is there anyway around that or did I screw up when I bought this remote?

Comment

I'm saying this without firsthand experience, but my understanding is that z-wave remotes cannot be recognized by HS except as a single 'node' - meaning you will not be able to use a z-wave remote to control devices *through* HS - only one device.

I have a boat-load of z-wave remotes that came with starter kits that I am unable to use through HS. I use X-10 remotes to control the z-wave devices as simple device actions.

I hope I got my terminology right and maybe someone will jump in here with firsthand knowledge as well...