Newbe need to understand how things work

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbe need to understand how things work

I am new to HA and to the Home seer controllers and software so my questions may look dump or easy to the rest of you.

I downloader the Homeseer2 demo version and try to have a look what it does. I pass over many posts in this forum but I still have my questions or I can not understand how thinks work

I am working into my house which is existing building and not new construction so I have to use wireless electric switches. In my country we do operate with 220V so I bought a Z-Wave Wall Mounted Dimmer Switch that I found throw Homeseer authorized dealers. http://www.letsautomate.com/12575.cfm?

Ok then I have the software and one t least hardware that I have to connect and make it to work. I need a remote controller to work by itself with out the HS2 but this is not what i want. How it is possible to connect it with the HS2 software?

I also found in HS online shop the GC-100-12 - Network Infrared Controller (Yes I invented the wheel again ). I saw all the information in HS website and also I saw the Global cache website but I can not understand how is working. Does anybody have connection plans for this appliance? Can I control other appliances with the GC-100 as well?

Since all these products work with IR/RF then is it possible for somebody that has a remote control reach nearby my house and operating the devices??

Thank you in advance
    Last edited by ; September 13, 2009, 04:31 AM.

At least to address your Z-Wave question. It sounds like you need an interface such as the Z-Troller or Z-Stick. These will 'connect' HS to your Z-Wave switch. Be aware however that Z-Wave is a mesh network (each device communicates with others). The more devices (switches etc.) you have, the better it will function.
    Real courage is not securing your Wi-Fi network.

Comment

Hello Wadenut
      Thank you for your information