AV Distribution suggestions, PLEASE!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AV Distribution suggestions, PLEASE!

I am new to HS so i need a little direction from some of you experts out there. My set-up is pretty straight forward, HSPro, HSTouch, IPhone, in-wall touch pad. (various lighting throughout)

I would like to control my whole house audio and i'm looking for suggestions for how to do this.

Current set-up is 3 receivers and 3 amps located in the basement "equipment" room. All servers, switches, coax and video is terminated there. I had a Crestron system installed when the house was built to control audio distribution to all 3 levels of the house as well as the theater (basically i have one receiver/amp for each floor of the house). Crestron system controls the receivers and amps through one Crestron remote and 3 basic in-wall touch pads located throughout with what i believe are IR blasters. Basically they turn on/off the receiver and amps and select the audio source.

I would like to replace the Crestron all together with new touch pads and control it all through HS. I'm having trouble understanding how to control the equipment in the basement with HS. I am very unfamiliar with IR blasters and the interfaces that would be needed. How do they learn the codes, can I just use one receiver/amp with an interface that will distribute the audio to all/different levels/zones of the house, etc....

I have read many threads and have looked at GC-100-12 and USB-UIRT but i don't fully understand how they would work to replace/suppliment what i already have.

Very excited about the possibilities but a little overwhelmed as well. Any advice is GREATLY APPRECIATED!!!

Hi,

Nice setup. I think you should keep your 3 receivers/amp. I don't say how many speakers you have installed, but I may be to much for only one of the amp.