WDTC-20 Batteries

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

WDTC-20 Batteries

Z-wave newbie here. I bought a few products recently to play around with and to see if I want to buy more to automate my house. One of which was a WDTC-20 thermostat. I only bought one to test and would eventually need to buy 2 more for the other zones in my house. I hooked it up on a Wed and by Fri night the batteries were dead! Is this typical? I'm obviously not going to want to change batteries every 48 hrs so what gives?

Also, it would show up in HSTouch but when I try to change the temp it would say No Data, but that's another topic...

If your WDTC-20 is eating batteries that quickly, then that's a tell-tale sign that you dont have a 24v AC wired up. These stats require 24v AC either provided by your HVAC or a separate power supply. I have 2 of these stats - one was already wired with 24v AC and the other required me to install one myself. You can get them from allelectronics.com:
    http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a...SFORMER/1.html
    HS4Pro on a Raspberry Pi4
    54 Z-Wave Nodes / 21 Zigbee Devices / 108 Events / 767 Devices
    Plugins: Z-Wave / Zigbee Plus / EasyTrigger / AK Weather / OMNI

HSTouch Clients: 1 Android

Comment

that makes sense. I will check my wiring. I wish I knew this ahead of time as we just got done drywalling that room and it would have been simple to run a line if needed. thanks

Comment

yes, looks like the cause of this is me not having a common wire. silly me, i just connected the 3 wires that were present in my system.

i have a heating power, heat return, and fan relay. so no common wire, but i followed the wires to the boiler and the fan relay is not connected to anything. can i use that as the common wire? where can i tap in to get the 24v? thanks again for the help!

Comment