Newbie help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie help

I'm new to HA but have used SageTV for years to control my multimedia at home (translation, I don't mind tinkering with things to get them work).

As I'm investigating Homeseer and other options, I'm overwhelmed by all the choices and options. Particularly for Homeseer I am worried about the complexity of wiring my home lighting (I have many 3way switches) and how to best manage and plan the switches, scene buttons, and the like.

Is there a manual or online video that shows me how to install these (or better yet, how to plan which components I need)? It's the planning and decisions around which switches I need that is as overwhelming as the installation itself.

This board is a great resource, but it's not very concise....

Look forward to any recommendations you all have.

Originally posted by Xiphoid View Post
    I'm new to HA but have used SageTV for years to control my multimedia at home (translation, I don't mind tinkering with things to get them work).
    Welcome. Tolerance for tinkering will be very useful.

As I'm investigating Homeseer and other options, I'm overwhelmed by all the choices and options. Particularly for Homeseer I am worried about the complexity of wiring my home lighting (I have many 3way switches) and how to best manage and plan the switches, scene buttons, and the like.

Is there a manual or online video that shows me how to install these (or better yet, how to plan which components I need)? It's the planning and decisions around which switches I need that is as overwhelming as the installation itself.
    I've seen some guides in the past, but they weren't very useful, and the technology has pretty much made them obsolete. It also depends on the technology you choose.