Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Just getting started

Hello all,

I am just getting started in HA and I need some advice on getting my ideas out of my head and on paper. I would appreciate any guidance on the best ways and equipment to approach the following:

1) First level - Set up bedroom so that a x-time (say 5:45 AM), music starts (source can be mp3, radio,etc.), room light comes on at a dimmed value. As time gets closer to 6:00 AM lights go to full brightness and music goes to a max set volume.

2) Next level - Includes first but adds - Motion detector so that if someone arises during night the lights in room come on to a low set level and light in bathroom does the same.

I have the computer but need specifics on HA items. I am excited about getting all this going and more excited that plug-ins and scripts can be developed to do many things. I am a DBA by trade and a VB developer by hobby.

Thanks in advance for any help

RV6Pilot,
    Welcome to the HS BB. Do you have HomeSeer? If you do then all of this is very possible. I would suggest taking one project at a time and ease into this stuff. The learning curve for HS is not too bad but can be confusing if you thy to accomplish too much at once. First thing to do is to set up an event that executes at 5:45AM. Then in the device actions drag the light you want to start coming on into the Selected devices area. Then double click on the newly added device and the device command form is displayed. Here you can set the dim level and the delay. Repeat this for as many dims as you desire.
    💁‍♂️ Support & Customer Service 🙋‍♂️ Sales Questions 🛒 Shop HomeSeer Products

Comment