Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

RS-485 for Homeseer

Hi Everyone,

I'm in the process of switching from Stargate to HomeSeer and the last piece of hardware that I have and would like to keep are RS-485 based devices. Specifically, they are RCS TR-16 thermostats and an outdoor temperature sensor (RCS OS21).

I've looked for an RS-485 to USB adapter/converter but struck out. Anyone have any thoughts on how to get RS-485 devices to work with HomeSeer? I'm running HomeSeer on a notebook so I can't use an adapter card.

Thanks for the help.

Armand Girard

Armand

USB to RS485 converters do exist and I can't think of another way to convert. They are not cheap, but will be cheaper than replacing stats.

Good name brands that make them are Startech & Prolific. Both newegg.com and buy.com have them

Paul
    Paul

Comment

I use a couple different things... I have a Devicemaster RTS ethernet to serial converter.. it is 16 ports RS232 / RS485 and works great...

for my MODBUS furnace, the RS485 needed to be dead on so i use this

http://shopcsimn.com/product.php?pro...cat=262&page=2

and these have been excellent.. they work with the RCS thermostats too...

RS485 is multi-drop and the thermostats are addressable so you should be able to just run them on the same line as long as the plugin supports it...

-Christopher
      PerfecTemp - the Most advanced HVAC system I've ever Built - and its in my House

Comment

A quick search of Ebay found this cheap USB to 485 device: http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-RS485-Co...item33704e0d3b
        Jon

Comment

Do you have any serial over IP devices at all? If so you might find you have this option somewhere, I know mine has ports that can be configured in software to be RS232, 485 or 422.

Comment