Insteon strange behavior

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Insteon strange behavior

Hello, I am new to HS, and am just learning the ropes. I have an Insteon interface with a few devices set up. I have a device that I can control manually, and have a few events set up for it. The events and control are working fine, however, I have an off event set up for absolute time. However, every night, the device turns back on roughly 2 times after the event fires, and I have to go in and turn the device off manually. I have checked and don't see other events that would turn it on. Any ideas? I am coming from a Mac-based Indigo install, so maybe there is something stored on the powerlinc? Not sure here as I am charting new territory.

Hi, welcome to HS and the board!

I would check the log file for both homeseer on its console and also generate a log file from insteon after it happens.. the insteon log generate button is at the bottom of the insteon configuration page. The log will be in the HS2/config directory (or Pro, depending which version of HS you have)

Insteon is really solid... unless the device itself is flaky, you will see a message from <something> to the device causing the change. Post a snippet of the log file back here if you can find something interesting in it.

Which Homeseer insteon plugin do you have and what version?
    Do you use the X10 capabilities of the device, if it has it? Some Insteon Devices do Insteon and X10 at the same time.

Paul
    Paul

Comment

Thanks for the response Paul.

Here is the plug in:
      Insteon Plug-in Configuration - HYBRID PLC VERSION 1.1.52.1 In PLC/SDM Mode

I forced a log entry, and here is the top:
      Insteon Plug-in Error Log Generated 7/24/2012 6:46:43 PM
      -----------*Error Message*----------------
      Error: Forced error / log generation -- 7/24/2012 6:46:43 PM
      --------*Initialization Log*--------------
      7/24/2012 6:45:26 PM - Host System: HomeSeer 2.5.0.52