Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie questions ahead

Hello all,
    I'm a newbie to the forum, and home automation as well. I've looked all over for the answer but haven't come up with any updated information. Just wondering if someone could tell me the best email service to use when sending notifications/alerts from my events. I've tried yahoo and my local provider Cox communications. Cant seem to get any outbound emails. I assume they are being blocked. Thanks for any help!

I'm using a gmail account

tenholde
    tenholde

Comment

Originally posted by maxbo_ranger View Post
      Hello all,
      I'm a newbie to the forum, and home automation as well. I've looked all over for the answer but haven't come up with any updated information. Just wondering if someone could tell me the best email service to use when sending notifications/alerts from my events. I've tried yahoo and my local provider Cox communications. Cant seem to get any outbound emails. I assume they are being blocked. Thanks for any help!
      Are there any error messages in your logs? Also, for notifications, if you want to send them to an iPhone or Android phone, take a look at the Pushover plugin. This typically gives you faster notification (push) as compared to email (pull).

Cheers
      Al
      HS 4.2.8.0: 2134 Devices 1252 Events
      Z-Wave 3.0.10.0: 133 Nodes on one Z-Net

Comment

Here for many years have had CC (cable) and Verizon (DSL ==> FIOS) email.

Relating to Homeseer mail in general have always utilize GMail or Microsoft Email and to date have never had an issue with said email and Homeseer.
        - Pete

Auto mator
        Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU 16Gb
        Homeseer Zee2 (Lite) - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e - CherryTrail x5-Z8350 BeeLink 4Gb BT3 Pro
        HS4 Lite - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenovo Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram

HS4 Pro - V4.1.18.1 - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenova Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram