Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Pool monitoring for salt and temp

Hello,

I am fairly new to HS and am working on getting a HS3 system built around my home to monitor and hopefully control as much as I can.

Does anyone know of a salt sensor I can use to read the salinity levels in my pool? I would prefer (if possible) something that can be installed in the plumbing as opposed to floating in the pool, as those "floaters" tend to leak after a while from what I've read in this forums. A temp sensor would also be nice, but again not the floater kind.

Ideally I would like to monitor salt levels, temperature, and pH levels, but salt it the most important to me as the moment.

I have seen the units from Hayward that allow you to monitor all kinds of things but they generally cost in the thousands. Some other models come already prepackaged with chlorine generators, but I've already got one of those.

Can anyone suggest anything to get me started?

Thank you in advance!

Thats pretty automated, and I bet it'll cost a fortune. Here, zwave senses my water level and fills it on demand. Zwave senses the temperature and includes it in my weather report page. Of course zwave controls the two stage lighting schedule, and filter/chloronator schedule. Homeseer sends me a text when it's time to service the filter. Poolside a MiniMote allows me to have manual control of it all.
    As far as pH, 5 drops of DPD solution keeps me informed the old fashioned way. Same with chlorine. The chloronator tells me the salt level, and once set, really won't change much through swim season.
    I could imagine sensors built into the plumbing... temp, pH, chlorine, salinity. In of themselves isn't a big deal , but to have homeseer monitor and interact with your Chlorinator, adding acid or alkaline, controlling heater or cooling, backwashing filters, and topping off the water lever. That's going to be quit a system $$$
    Blair

HomeSeer: HS3 Pro | Blue-Iris 4 on Windows10Pro