Virtual COM port for HS3-Pi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Virtual COM port for HS3-Pi

Hello all, please forgive me if this is posted in the wrong place. I couldn't figure out where best to post it.

In a nutshell, I installed HS3 on a Pi 4 board. It's seems to work but I need to use the Concord Plugin to talk to my security panel (and my panel complains incessantly if it's not being serviced). On my Win10 HS3 install I use a VCom software to create a virtual serial port to talk to my panel 2 floors away. How do I do the same thing on HS3 Pi? How will I get the Concord Plugin to talk over my LAN to the serial port device?

Thanks for any pointers. I'm a fumbling noob on Pi/Linux.

Mike

Pete This seems to be up Pete’s alley. I think it is something like ser2net that is used. I have not done it myself on Linux.

Comment

For Linux here utilize ser2net. concordseer (Pete) is very familiar with your security panel / plugin / Homeseer on the RPi .

Easy to install ser2net.

1 - sudo apt update
      2 - sudo apt install ser2net
      3 - sudo nano /etc/ser2net.conf

Here utilize it for my ZWave RPi in the attic. I added the following line to my configuration:

3001:raw:60:/dev/ttyUSB1:9600

Note this is for the RPi to speak to an serial to ethernet connection on the panel side and I am not sure how that is configured. (speed and port wise)

- Pete

Auto mator
      Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU 16Gb- Mono 6.12.X - HSTouch on Intel tabletop tablets
      Homeseer Zee2 (Lite) - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e - CherryTrail x5-Z8350 BeeLink 4Gb BT3 Pro - Mono 6.12.X
      HS4 Pro - V4.1.10.0 - Ubuntu 18.04/VB W7e 64 bit Intel Kaby Lake CPU - 32Gb - Mono 6.12.x
      HS4 Lite -

X10, UPB, Zigbee, ZWave and Wifi MQTT automation-Tasmota-Espurna. OmniPro 2, Russound zoned audio, Smartthings hub, Hubitat Hub, and Home Assistant

Comment