Zee and 2413U for X-10 and Insteon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Zee and 2413U for X-10 and Insteon

I'm new to Homeseer and hoping someone can comment on my problems. I received a Hometroller Zee about 2 weeks ago. I have an existing X-10 system with about 30 switches, some new Insteon switches, and plans to add Z-wave door locks and t-stats. Over time I plan to replace the X-10 with Insteon or Zwave.

I'm using the 2413U as I thought since it supports X-10 and Insteon it would be all I would need besides the Z stick that comes with the Zee. But now I'm not so sure.

Initially my Zee would just crash when trying to enable the X-10 plug in. Support had me upgrade to 3.0.0.125 and that solved the crashing. However I still can't get X-10 to work. In trying to make it work I noticed behavior that implies the 2413U can't be used for X-10?

Regardless, I switched to trying to get just X-10 working using a CM11A (with a USB to serial adapter) and that doesn't work either - my adapter has Tx/Rx LEDs and they never flicker when I try and send X-10 commands (this is with the Z stick removed, and only X-10 enabled). Log says it's sending and no errors. (X-10 plug in version
    3.0.0.30).

I've updated my initial ticket with support but while I'm waiting I'm hoping someone in the community can tell me if the 2413U can be used with the Zee for X-10 and Insteon? I've read through the forums but so far haven't seen any discussion about that. The literature for the Zee says it supports the 2413U but after re-reading maybe I made a bad assumption? If it doesn't then I guess I need to add a USB hub to support 2413U, CM11A, and the Z stick?

I can't find a cause for X-10 not working using the CM11A; I can't find a communications test from within HS3. I have some timer events in the CM11A that I would want to remove - can't find a way to do that from HS3 either.