Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

best way to create event based on light level?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

best way to create event based on light level?

I'm new to homeseer in general.

I've got a "Device Value Change" event setup, the trigger is that my sensor's light level is Less Than 50.

I was hoping it would get triggered when, for example, the light level changes from 60 to 40, but not repeatedly after that, when the light level changes from 40 to 42 or whatever.

Is there any simple way to create this sort of event, or so I need to create virtual devices or something to accomplish this?

Also, in case it's important, I've also got a "condition" set - the Motion sensor value must be "Motion".

Thoughts?
    thanks

I do a similar thing but i have a virtual device that gets turned on when the value goes below 50 and then off again when it goes above.

I then use the virtual device as a reference in other events and scripts. e.g if there is motion and the virtual device is on turn on a light, if not ignore the motion.

Neil
    Running HS PRO V2.5.0.49 & HS Pro V2.5.0.51

Comment

Hi Neiltimms

I see you have a W800 - does the HSM100 Z-wave work through that and the AFRC plugin?

Regards,

Mav

Comment

No, i have the w800 for a few old x10 motion sensors that i'm still using. All my z-wave goes through my z-troller.

Neil
        Running HS PRO V2.5.0.49 & HS Pro V2.5.0.51

Comment

A virtual device might be the only way to accomplish what you want.

Device value change triggers will fire when, well, a device value changes. So, when the change is from 60 to 59, 59 to 50, 50 to 45 - they will all trigger the event.

Your best option is the conditions. If you are using the trigger/event to turn on a device, then use that as your prevention from repeat triggers. E.g. don't have the event run if the light is already on.
          Regards,

Rick Tinker (a.k.a. "Tink")

Comment