Adding a z-net

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Adding a z-net

I have a z-net with about 70 devices installed. A few months ago I started experiencing odd issues with new nodes being added at node numbers that are already in use. I have to be very careful (doing a lot of backup and restores!) and most times that I add a new device it causes all sorts of issues that can sometimes take hours to clean up. This is a problem i have been fighting for about 6 months. Something is systemically wrong, but I just cannot diagnose what it is - every time i think i have it cleaned up it will go haywire again if i try to exclude or add a new device.

A thought came to me that perhaps now - while my z-net is stable and the the homeseer DB and z-net device list are matching with all expected devices in place - that I should add a new z-net and never touch the old one again. My thought is that after adding a new z-net, every device I add would be added to that device and perhaps I could bypass the issues I have been having with the one that is currently in place.

If there are two z-net devices in use by homeseer do they use separate databases, etc for devices? Is it possible that adding a second z-net could solve my problems with adding new devices?

Thanks for any advice.

It will be the same database, so the only place they are different is in the z-net's z-wave interface itself. Have you created a z-wave controller backup file or taken a look at the most recent one? They are located in the \Data\Z-Wave sub-folder and have a .ZWave extension. Open it in a text editor and then confirm that all the nodes you have are included. In that case, I would reset the the z-net by going to the Z-Wave plugin's Controller Management page and then picking "Restore a Network to this Interface" in the Z-Wave Interfaces section.
    HS 4.2.8.0: 2134 Devices 1252 Events
    Z-Wave 3.0.10.0: 133 Nodes on one Z-Net

Comment

Originally posted by sparkman View Post