Newbie - WiFi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - WiFi

I am somewhat new to this and therefore have a newbie question.

I am told that my HomeTroller-SEL (Linux) has built in Wifi, but I cant seem to find a place where I can configure it. I don't have the ability to connect a monitor or keyboard so was hoping to do this through the web interface?

Sorry if I'm missing something basic. Appreciate the help.

As far as I know you need to plug it into an monitor with a keyboard and mouse.

Configuring the Wi-Fi Adapter

Wi-Fi is included with your SEL, follow these instructions for setting it up: (You must have HS set up with the Ethernet cable first). A monitor and keyboard is necessary for setting up static IP address.
    a) Once logged into the graphical interface of your SEL. Click on the Start Menu on the bottom left
    b) Go to System and locate Network Connections
    c) Go to Wifi tab and click on IPv4.
    d) Click Edit and enter in your IP, Subnet, and Gateway.
    e) Click Save.
    - Pete

Auto mator
    Homeseer 3 Pro - 3.0.0.548 (Linux) - Ubuntu 18.04/W7e 64 bit Intel Haswell CPU 16Gb

HS4 Pro - Ubuntu 22.04 / Lenova Tiny M900 / 32Gb Ram
    HSTouch on Intel tabletop tablets (Jogglers) - Asus AIO - Windows 11

X10, UPB, Zigbee, ZWave and Wifi MQTT automation-Tasmota-Espurna. OmniPro 2, Russound zoned audio, Alexa, Cheaper RFID, W800 and Home Assistant

Comment

Wifi

I'm aware of the steps, but those steps don't make sense .. for example

"once you connect to the graphical user interface..."

This implies that I am connected using a monitor and a keyboard/mouse, which I indicated I don't have. If it is referring to the web interface, then that is false as well, as there is no start button on the web interface.

Any help would be appreciated.

Edit : I should also add that I am not looking to setup a static IP. Just want the HomeTroller-Sel to connect to the wifi network in the home. This is a Linux based Hometroller-SEL.

Comment