Else statements?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Else statements?

I'm new to HS (coming from ISY), and have been toying with Events. In the ISY, there was the ability to add "Else" to the If/then statements. I don't see that as an option here. How is that done?

Example: IF Light A is on, AND IF Light B is on, THEN execute an event... ELSE execute a different event.

Is "Else" possible within HS?

Nope. Unfortunately not. You have to create another event

Comment

Originally posted by mikee123 View Post
      Nope. Unfortunately not. You have to create another event
      Meh. That could get messy. Feature request, I suppose. Thanks.

Comment

No, there is no "else". User's typically have to write another "If" statement to get an "else"-like desired response.

Comment

Originally posted by rrehart01 View Post

Meh. That could get messy. Feature request, I suppose. Thanks.

As an FYI - an "else" has been requested and discussed a number of times in the forums. Bottom line as I understand it is that it isn't clear how to implement an "else" that would be logical and give an consistent expected result. As a simple example, looking at the If ... Then ... Else you wrote in Post #1, would the "Else" trigger continuously when A or B is off, or would it trigger only once if A turned On while B is Off (or vice versa), or something else? The combinations / permutations of this are endless and grow with each additional condition in the event so it has never been clear how this could be solved in a logical manner.

Comment

Originally posted by jvm View Post