IF HS3 didn't exist...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IF HS3 didn't exist...

What software would you use to control your z-wave environment knowing what you know about HS and z-wave?

I am absolutely thrilled that I made the right decision and purchased HS3. I moved from X10 which is still in use, but barely nowadays.

I do have an Aeotec z-stick that is not in use right now. So I would like to try an experiment with the z-stick and some software other than HS (IOW a totally different independent system). I just want to see how some devices show under an entirely different system. I looked at homegenie.it and thought "this is painful" but maybe it was me.

I realize that for some devices I would have to exclude from my main system to test in another system, but such is life.

So... if you were to not use HS, what would be your second choice?

I am pretty new to HA in general. Before I bought HS3 I was looking at Home Assistant.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Comment

Where I work, we sell a home automation package that uses a proprietary gateway that controls Z-Wave via the AeoTec Z-Sticks. Its cloud-based and works fine for the vast majority of our users. However, it is nowhere near as powerful as HS.
      HS4Pro on a Raspberry Pi4
      54 Z-Wave Nodes / 21 Zigbee Devices / 108 Events / 767 Devices
      Plugins: Z-Wave / Zigbee Plus / EasyTrigger / AK Weather / OMNI

HSTouch Clients: 1 Android

Comment

There's quite a few choices out there. The ones I've set up successfully are Home Assistant, Domoticz, Vera and Homegenie. Each have their strengths and weaknesses. You've open and closed source to choose from. They range from simplistic to very difficult depending on your experience. It's purely a personal choice here. I tend to opt for solutions that run on SoC boards particularly the Raspberry Pi.

Comment

If HS didn't exist, I'd have a lot more time on my hands and a lot more money.