Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help with setup of z-wave build.

Hi All.

So I'm pretty new to Hs3 pro. I'm in the process of adding new z-wave components to HS3. This is where I'm meeting my first challenges.

The computer with the install is a little stationary Intel NUC machine. But the new zwave devices are spread out to different locations, my first device was close to the computer, so no problem, the next device was on the other side of a wall and it was not found in the search for new devices. I had to unplug the computer, move screen keyboard and what not, to the outside location next to the device to add it. This was a total pain and because of that I have not installed my remaining devices. :-(

My question is, is there a smarter way to do this? Temporary moving the USB zwave stick to a laptop seams like the only way to go, but once setup I don't want the homeseer install to run on the laptop? Is there some piece of software for this purpose outthere?

I did find the mobile app, but as long as the device is not close to the USB Z-wave stick then I don't really see how that should work?

Thanks Kasper

What z-wave devices are you trying to add? Powered devices or battery operated (sensors)? Z-Wave is a mesh protocol and powered devices act as repeaters for it. If you are only adding battery devices that is the cause of your problem. You must have powered devices to repeat the signal otherwise z-wave has no mesh. The same for Zigbee if you're wondering.

Comment

I have only tried to add powered devices. But to my understanding only the USB stick in the homeseer computer is searching for new devices when you ask homeseer to search for new devices. Perhaps I got that wrong?

Comment