Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Decoupling logical states from phisical devices (and events from triggers)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Decoupling logical states from phisical devices (and events from triggers)

Hello everyone. I am new to HomeSeer and currently in the process of migrating from OpenHab after few years of usage (to which I migrated from Domoticz ).

I would like your oppinion on separating states from phisical devices, and action trigers from actions. A bit long explanation, but this is kinda important before I start, thanks for patience.

Since I am developer I sort of think about abstractions (and obviously sometimes overengineering things), so what I found that works for me logically is to separate states from devices, thus having less places to change things when adding/changing devices and actions. But does this makes sense in homeseer?
    In my mind there are some states, actions, scenes and triggers

For example, the virtual device/state "someone in the house" would derive its state from virtual devices like "me in the house", "wife in the house" and "guests in the house". Wheres "me in the house" would come from my phones connection, and "wife in the house" would be her phone + motorcycle keys bluetooth beacon (as she forgets the phone sometimes). Guests are determined by their wifi connection to guest network on Unifi.

Other examples would be something like:
    • Presence:
      • Someone home / no one home / all home
        • Me home
        • Wife home
        • wasp result
        • Guests present (wifi?)
      • Someone on way from work (me, wife)
      • Someone sleeping
        • left bed side occupied
      • Someone sitting at the table
        • chair 1 occupied
        • chair 2 occupied
    • Comfort
      • Sun luminosity in the room
        • Now
        • Last two days
      • Temperature (Yesturday / today / tomorrow)
        • livingroom
        • outside
      • Time periods