Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What to backup from a Pi's SD card before reinstalling?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What to backup from a Pi's SD card before reinstalling?

Hi All,

I've been running HS3-Pi-3 on a Pi-3 without any issues for the last 3 months.

I've got a Z-wave stick on there, half a dozen z-wave thermostats, a couple of z-wave sockets, light switches etc. and a bunch of rules & events.

This evening I discovered it wasn't responding... myhomeseer couldn't connect and I couldn't get a web page response direct from the Pi's IP address. I plugged an HDMI cable into the Pi and saw a lot of "SQL Exception updating ZWave Scene record in the database: database disk image is malformed" errors on the screen.

For some reason I couldn't ssh into the Pi (my bad I think... the password I had didn't work) and I had to pull the power. Of course now when I power up, I get a kernel panic and the Pi won't boot (Pis seem to be so much more fragile in that regard than my Ubuntu machines!).

So... my plan is to reinstall from a fresh image. But I'd like to save myself the trouble of removing/re-adding all the devices, setting up all my rules etc again. No, I don't believe I have any sort of remotely saved backup (this is the kind of pain that helps us learn, right?)

I have the Pi's SD card in a reader connected to my PC and so have access to all the partitions - SETTINGS, boot & root. Can I save something from here to restore later and get all my data back? /home/homeseer looks like it has some general app configuration but nothing meaty - I'm presuming most of the device and event information is in the SQL database? (Although, given that it was throwing SQL errors before it died, maybe that won't help)

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

So... partially solved.